Ms Christy Chow, artist of “LABORLAND”, won the Hong Kong Human Rights Arts Prize 2017

Ms Christy Chow, artist of “LABORLAND”, won the Hong Kong Human Rights Arts Prize 2017 with her artwork namely “De-stitching”. The work captures her deconstruction process of a shirt sewn together by a sweatshop worker in Bangladesh by removing 3,745 stitches in 4.5 hours. It pays tribute to the anonymous worker and questions the value of labour in the world of capitalism.
The awarded artwork is now being exhibited at Blindspot Gallery until 16 Dec 2017.

 

About Hong Kong Human Rights Arts Prize (HKHRAP)

Established in 2013 and organised by Justice Centre Hong Kong, HKHRAP aims to discover and encourage Hong Kong based artists to explore the state of human rights both at home and abroad through their artworks, raising the social awareness on the human rights issues. Themes of the past artworks covered the occupy movement, plight of refugees, homelessness, forced labour and ethnic minorities/LGBT rights.


分享:
Ms Christy Chow, artist of “LABORLAND”, won the Hong Kong Human Rights Arts Prize 2017
Facebook
Whatsapp

Mr Chan Tze-woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” won the Ogawa Shinsuke Prize of Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival

Mr Chan Tze-woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” received overseas recognition once again and won the Ogawa Shinsuke Prize, the first prize under the New Asian Currents Awards of Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival with his documentary film “Yellowing”. The same film was also nominated as the Best Documentary in Golden Horse Awards of Taiwan last year. Taking Umbrella Movement as the theme, Mr Chan used first-hand perspective, recorded how some selected protesters felt, their ups-and-downs and trivia at the scene.

 

About Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival (YIDFF)

First held in 1989, YIDFF is the first international documentary film festival in Asia, which held biennially in Yamagata of Japan. It has 2 major competitions: International Competition and New Asian Currents. New Asian Currents competition program introducing emerging filmmakers from across Asia, has become one of the festival’s vibrant centers of attention as a meeting place of youthful energy in documentary production.


分享:
Mr Chan Tze-woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” won the Ogawa Shinsuke Prize of Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival
Facebook
Whatsapp

“ADC Artspace” Open Day

“ADC Artspace” Open Day
The “ADC Artspace” will open to public in South Island Art Day for exchange between artists and the public. Details are as follows:
Date:14 October 2017 (Saturday)
Opening hours: 12 noon – 8 p.m.
Venue: “ADC Artspace”, 12/F, Genesis, 33-35 Wong Chuk Hang Road, Aberdeen(地圖)
Transportation: Exit B of MTR – Wong Chuk Hang Station
Visitors could enjoy free shuttle bus service travelling between Wong Chuk Hang and Tin Wan for visiting over 16 galleries, arts spaces and artist studios in Southern District. Activities including talks, exhibitions, performances and guided tours would be arranged in the district, providing opportunities for visitors to interact with local and international artists. (For details about South Island Art Day, please visit the website of South Island Cultural District http://www.sicd.com.hk)

分享:
“ADC Artspace” Open Day
Facebook
Whatsapp

Mr. Chan Tze Woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” won the Hong Kong Arts Development Award 2016–Award for Young Artist (film) of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council

Mr. Chan Tze Woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” was awarded the Hong Kong Arts Development Award 2016–Award for Young Artist (film) of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. Mr. Chan’s creative pursuits feature Hong Kong political environment and social movements. Mr. Chan’s works are recognised for his personal style and experimental spirit, challenging the established perceptions of documentaries and dramatic films.
Mr. Chan created the debut mockumentary short, titled “The Aqueous Truth”, in 2013 which strengthened his determination to be an independent filmmaker. In 2014, the mockumentary style was re-curred in his second short film, “Being Rain: Representation and Will”, mirrored the political atmosphere of Hong Kong at that time using “conspiracy theory” which brought him the Best Creativity Award in Open Division, Local Competition in the Fresh Wave International Short Film Festival and shortlisted in Open Division of the Hong Kong Independent Short Film and Video Awards.
Mr. Chan put himself up to the challenge of making different films and produced his first full-length documentary, “Yellowing”, in 2016 using first-hand perspective, recorded how some selected protesters felt, their ups-and-downs and trivia at the scene. As the director was directly involved and experienced the movement with the selected protesters, “Yellowing” distinguished itself from other documentaries on the Umbrella Movement. The film was shortlisted for the Best Documentary of the Golden Horse Awards and participated in a number of international film festivals.

 

About the Hong Kong Arts Development Award

Organised by the Hong Kong Arts Development Council, the Hong Kong Arts Development Awards aims to give formal recognition to distinguished arts practitioners, groups and organisations that have made significant contributions to the arts development in Hong Kong.

The Awards scheme presents different awards to pay tribute to veteran arts practitioners and to recognise arts practitioners and up-and-coming artists with outstanding achievements. It also commends individuals and organisations that have actively participated in arts education and promotion, as well as patrons who have generously supported local arts events. By conferring the awards, the scheme aims to introduce diverse arts talents to the community, and to encourage active community support to the arts development in Hong Kong.

http://www.hkadc.org.hk/?p=550&lang=en


分享:
Mr. Chan Tze Woon, artist of “Faraway Warehouse” won the Hong Kong Arts Development Award 2016–Award for Young Artist (film) of the Hong Kong Arts Development Council
Facebook
Whatsapp

Mr. Kurt Tong, artist of “LightWell”, won the WMA Masters 2016/17

Mr. Kurt Tong, artist of “LightWell”, won the WMA Masters 2016/17 themed on “Mobility” with his photographic series namely “Threads of Sisterhood”.

The “Threads of Sisterhood” series is around Mak Ngan Yuk, the nanny who worked for Mr. Tong’s family for nearly 40 years. It combines new photographs, found photographs and several other mixed media pieces. It explores the story of comb up women, giving a voice to generations of unsung heroines who might otherwise be ignored or forgotten.

The awarded artwork is now being exhibited at Comix Home Base until 6 May 2017.

 

About WMA Masters

WMA Masters is a non-profit photography award with different theme every year aiming to nurture the growth of photography as an art form in Hong Kong, as well as foster community awareness on socially relevant issues of critical importance to Hong Kong.


分享:
Mr. Kurt Tong, artist of “LightWell”, won the WMA Masters 2016/17
Facebook
Whatsapp

Ms. Yuen So Ling, artist of “Stustudio”, won the Silver Prize at the Gyeonggi International Ceramic Biennale 2017

Ms. Yuen So Ling, artist of “Stustudio”, won the Silver Prize with her ceramic artwork “Excavation” at the International Competition of Gyeonggi International Ceramic Biennale 2017 (GICB 2017). The competition aims at redefining the essence of ceramics by examining the established and traditional values of ceramic art and through artworks that mirror the modern trends and point to the future of the ceramic art. It is an international gateway for emerging artists to showcase their tremendous creativity. The artwork of Ms. Yuen is now exhibiting in the GICB 2017 until 9 October.

About GICB 2017
First held in 2001, GICB is an art event held every two years in South Korea. The theme of GICB 2017 is “Narrative_ Ode to Life”. It serves as a forum to study on the relationship between people and ceramics, and restore the values of ceramic culture by exploring people’s lives in every respect, including everyday living, dreams, history, culture, and politics through works of ceramic art, bringing the modern beauty of ceramic art to the public.


分享:
Ms. Yuen So Ling, artist of “Stustudio”, won the Silver Prize at the Gyeonggi International Ceramic Biennale 2017
Facebook
Whatsapp

「劳动乐园」艺术家周颖璇夺得香港人权艺术奖2017

「劳动乐园」艺术家周颖璇凭作品《拆线》夺得香港人权艺术奖2017。作品纪绿周氏使用4.5小时拆解由孟加拉国血汗工厂工人所缝制的一件恤衫上3,745针缝线的过程,以赞扬无名工人,并带出在资本主义制度下对工人价值的反思。
得奖作品现于刺点画廊展出,展期至2017年12月16日。

 

有关香港人权艺术奖

由Justice Centre Hong Kong 创办的香港人权艺术奖始于2013年,旨在发掘及鼓励香港艺术家以其艺术作品带出本地或国际人权有关的议题,从而引起社会关注。过往作品曾触及占领运动、难民、露宿者、血汗工厂工人及少数族裔/性小众权益等议题。


分享:
「劳动乐园」艺术家周颖璇夺得香港人权艺术奖2017
Facebook
Whatsapp

「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓夺得日本山形国际纪录片映画祭「小川绅介赏」

「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓再度扬威海外,凭去年获台湾金马奖提名最佳纪录片的《乱世备忘》,勇夺日本山形国际纪录片映画祭中「亚洲新潮(New Asian Currents)」类别的首奖-「小川绅介赏」。影片以雨伞运动为主题,以第一身视角,与片中人物一同经历各运动时刻,聚焦人物的心路历程、情绪起伏及其他现场絮事。
得奖作品现于刺点画廊展出,展期至2017年12月16日。

 

有关日本山形国际纪录片映画祭

日本山形国际纪录片映画祭始于1989年,每两年举办一次,为亚洲首个国际纪录片影展。影展主要包括「国际竞赛(International Competition)」与「亚洲新潮」两大竞赛单元,「亚洲新潮」提供平台汇聚亚洲区新晋导演。


分享:
「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓夺得日本山形国际纪录片映画祭「小川绅介赏」
Facebook
Whatsapp

「ADC艺术空间(创协坊)」开放日

「ADC艺术空间(创协坊)」开放日
「ADC艺术空间」将于南港岛艺术日开放予公众参观 ,以促进艺术家与公众交流 ,详情如下:
日期:2017年10月14日(星期六)
开放时间:上午12 时至下午8时
地点:香港仔黄竹坑道33至35号创协坊(Genesis) 12楼「ADC艺术空间(创协坊)」(地图)
交通:港铁黄竹坑站B出口
公众当日可乘搭免费接驳巴士穿梭黄竹坑及田湾,参观逾16间港岛南区的艺廊、艺术空间及艺术家工作室,并同时参与区内展览、表演、研讨会、以及导赏团,与本地及海外的艺术家交流。 (有关南港岛艺术日的安排,请浏览南港岛艺术区网址 http://www.sicd.com.hk/)

分享:
「ADC艺术空间(创协坊)」开放日
Facebook
Whatsapp

「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓夺得2016香港艺术发展奖–艺术新秀奖 (电影)

「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓荣获香港艺术发展局颁发的2016香港艺术发展奖–艺术新秀奖 (电影)。陈氏的拍摄题材一直环绕香港政治环境及社会运动。其作品甚具个人风格及冒险精神,打破纪录片及剧情片两种电影类型的固有想法。
陈氏于2013年以伪纪录的方式拍摄短片《香港人不知道的》,确立其独立创作之路。2014年再以伪纪录方式拍摄短片《作为雨水:表象及意志》,借「阴谋论」的故事呈现香港政治氛围,荣获鲜浪潮短片比赛最佳创意奬,并入围香港独立短片及录像比赛公开组竞赛。
陈氏勇于不同尝试,于2016年制作的首部纪录长片《乱世备忘》,有别于其他雨伞运动为主题的纪念片,以第一身视角,与片中人物一同经历各运动时刻,聚焦人物的心路历程、情绪起伏及其他现场絮事。他更凭此片入围金马奖最住纪录片以及参与多个国际影展。

 

有关香港艺艺术发展奖

香港艺术发展局每年举办香港艺术发展奖,以表扬在香港文化艺术界有卓越表现的艺术工作者,以及积极支持艺术活动的人士及团体/机构,肯定他们的努力和成就。

香港艺术发展奖设有多个不同奖项,除向资深艺术工作者致敬外,并表扬在不同范畴有卓越表现与贡献的艺术工作者及后起之秀,让社会各界对本地杰出艺术工作者有更深的认识。此计划亦嘉许积极参与艺术教育及推广工作,以及热心赞助本地艺术活动的人士及团体,鼓励社会各界支持及参与艺术发展,让大众分享他们努力的成果。

http://www.hkadc.org.hk/?p=550&lang=tc


分享:
「Faraway Warehouse」艺术家陈梓桓夺得2016香港艺术发展奖–艺术新秀奖 (电影)
Facebook
Whatsapp

「好光」艺术家唐景锋夺得2016/17年度WMA大师摄影奖

「好光」艺术家唐景锋凭「颜姐」摄影系列夺得2016/17年度以「动」为主题的WMA大师摄影奬。「颜姐」系列的重心围绕唐先生家中工作接近四十年的妈姐麦颜玉,结合了新照片、现有照片和其他混合媒介的作品,探究自梳女的故事,为历来未受传颂的女英雌发声,使其不致遗忘或无视。
得奖作品假动漫基地展出,展期至5月6日。

 

有关WMA大师摄影奖

WMA大师摄影奖,属非牟利摄影奖,每年均设立不同主题,旨在以摄影项目,提升摄影艺术水平并引发公众对香港社会不同议题的关注。


分享:
「好光」艺术家唐景锋夺得2016/17年度WMA大师摄影奖
Facebook
Whatsapp

「工作工作室」艺术家阮素玲于2017京畿世界陶瓷双年展夺得银奖

「工作工作室」艺术家阮素玲凭其陶瓷作品「Excavation」于2017京畿世界陶瓷双年展中的国际竞赛脱颖而出,夺得银奖。此国际竞赛以「反映世界现代陶瓷艺术现状,谋求陶瓷艺术未来发展」为主题,力求通过研究陶瓷固有价值和拥有传统意义的陶瓷艺术作品,重新定义陶瓷的特性,为新进艺术家一展其艺术创造力的世界级平台。得奬作品正于2017京畿世界陶瓷双年展中展出,展期至10月9日。

有关2017京畿世界陶瓷双年展
京畿世界陶瓷双年展为一个自2001年开始在南韩每两年举办一次的艺术活动。是届双年展以「叙事—歌颂人生」为主题,通过陶瓷作品探索日常、梦想、历史、文化、政治等人类实际生活的各方面,突出人与陶瓷文化之间的相互关系,重新树立陶瓷文化的价值,并让陶瓷的现代美展现在大众面前。


分享:
「工作工作室」艺术家阮素玲于2017京畿世界陶瓷双年展夺得银奖
Facebook
Whatsapp